Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. David Jayne

Dr. David Jayne is a professor of Clinical Autoimmunity at the University of Cambridge and Director of the Vasculitis and Lupus Service at Addenbrooke’s Hospital that cares for over 2000 patients with complex multi-system autoimmunity. 

Dr. Jayne is the international leader in the area of clinical research in anti-neutrophil cytoplasm antibody (ANCA)-associated vasculitis. He is co-founder and the current President of the European Vasculitis Society and a member of the Renal Association, European Renal Association and American Society on Nephrology. 

He has published over 450 peer-reviewed papers and in 2021 was awarded the ERA-EDTA prize for outstanding contributions to nephrology.

Prof. Josep Tabernero

Dr. Josep Tabernero is Head of Medical Oncology at the Vall d’Hebron University Hospital, Barcelona, Spain, Director of the Vall d’Hebron Institute of Oncology and Professor of Medicine at University of Vic, Barcelona, Spain. His research aims at potentiating molecular therapies targeting specific oncoproteins and accelerating more effective personalized cancer medicines. 

He serves on the Editorial Boards of various top tier journals and has (co) authored ~450 peer-reviewed papers. Dr. Tabernero was ESMO President from 2018 – 2019. 

He is also member of the AACR, ASCO, and has been appointed as member of several Educational and Scientific Committees.

Prof. Tony Mok

Dr. Mok is the Li Shu Fan Medical Foundation endowed Professor and Chairman of Department of Clinical Oncology at The Chinese University of Hong Kong. His main research interest focuses on biomarker and molecular targeted therapy in lung cancer.

He is a member of the Board of Directors for AstraZeneca, Aurora Tele-Oncology, HutchMed (China), St. Stephen’s College Council and Hong Kong Academy of Sciences. He is active in international education and has made significant contributions to AACR, ASCO, CSCO and ESMO.

Professor Mok has contributed to more than 300 peer-reviewed articles, and his work has been recognized by numerous awards. His article in the New England Journal of Medicine was selected as one of the most “Notable Articles in 2017”, and he was named one of the “Highly Cited Researchers” by Clarivate Analytics from 2018 to 2022.

Prof. Steven Nathan

Dr. Nathan is the Medical Director of the Advanced Lung Disease and Lung Transplant Program at Inova Fairfax Hospital and is a Professor at the University of Virginia. Dr. Nathan received his medical degree from the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa. He trained at Long Island Jewish Medical Center in New York, and at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles.

He has authored more than 750 publications, including original research manuscripts, abstracts, reviews, book chapters and three books on idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis. His main areas of research include interstitial lung disease, pulmonary hypertension and lung transplantation.

He has been Chair of multiple data safety monitoring and steering committees for clinical trials. He has also served on multiple US Food and Drug Administration advisory boards including as Chair of the FDA Anesthesiology and Respiratory Therapy Devices Panel.